JAT-Nepal gets new president

The Seventh Annual General Meeting of the Journalists’ Association for Tourism (JAT-Nepal) has elected 13 members new executive committee under the presidency of Narayan Bhandari.

The general assembly of the association held in Kathmandu elected Shiva Shrestha as first vice president, Shekhar Adhikari as 2nd vice president, Harisharan Neupane as general secretary, and Kumar Chaulagain as secretary and Rajiv Joshi as treasurer.

Similarly, Shankar Pradhananga, Kishore Khadka, Sabita Uprety, Kishore Basnyat, Achyut Regmi, Shreehari Shrestha and Mohan Prasad Mainali have been elected executive committee members.

Outgoing president Devi Prasad Pant is in the executive committee as Immediate Past President. The new executive committee will nominate two executive members in the committee.

Speaking at the event, the newly elected president Bhandari, said that JAT-Nepal would be playing important role in the development of tourism and tourism journalism in Nepal.

Likewise, JAT-Nepal also presented “Late Hari Raj Joshi Tourism Journalism Award 2074” to senior journalist, Raju Silwal for his role in developing tourism in Nepal through his media coverage. Silwal was honored with a certificate and Rs 8,848, maintaining equal recognition of the highest peak of the world, Mt. Everest. Late Joshi, who was the founding president of the association and the founder of Image Nepal, Travel Magazine, the oldest travel magazine of Nepal and one of the pioneer tourism journalist in Nepal, is regarded as taking Nepal’s tourism journalism to its highest point.

Similarly, Nepal Tourism Board, Nepal Mountaineering Association, and Khumbila Samrakshan Pratisthan were also conferred with institutional honor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This